Domenica, 04 Dicembre, 2016

Aztec Trio Wins Mountain West Awards

McNichols snubbed from All-Mountain West 1st team Aztec Trio Wins Mountain West Awards
Elettra Stolfi | 02 Dicembre, 2016, 12:10

The two first-team backs to come out of the conference were San Diego State's Donnel Pumphrey (1,908 yards, 15 touchdowns) and Wyoming's Brian Hill (1,674 yards, 21 touchdowns), so it isn't exactly like McNichols lost out to a pair of scrubs.

Pumphrey, who will play in the Mountain West title game at Wyoming on Saturday before closing out his college career in a bowl game, is 120 yards behind Texas running back D'Onta Foreman (2,028) for the national rushing lead, but should pass him as the Longhorns' season is over.

Pumphrey set a school mark in rushing yards per season this year with 1,908 and is closing in on the NCAA all-time rushing record.

Lotulelei also had 3½ sacks, three pass breakups and one forced fumble this season, creating the turnover that led to UNLV's game-winning field goal in its 41-38 win October 15 at Hawaii. McNichols was a second team selection.

Boise State did land six players on the first-team: quarterback Brett Rypien, wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck, offensive linemen Travis Averill and Mario Yakoo, and defensive linemen Sam McCaskill and David Moa.

It's the second consecutive year on the first team for Rypien and Sperbeck. His rushing total is now No. 3 in a single season in Boise State history.

All-Mountain West top awards?

The Mountain West football regular season is over and a trio of San Diego State Aztecs swept the conference Player of the Year awards for the second straight year. Defensive player of the year: Damontae Kazee, Sr., DB, San Diego State? Special teams player of the year: Rashaad Penny, Jr., KR, San Diego State?

Craig Bohl of Wyoming was picked as the league's coach of the year on Tuesday by the 12 coaches and a media panel, while Cowboys linebacker Logan Wilson earned freshman of the year.

Altre Notizie